Resurrection

My head is bursting…I can’t sleep at night.  I write in my mind, I just hope I can write here.  I’ve become vegan, I’ve lost 65 pounds, I still knit and I am making jewelry, I am frustrated by the economy and the government and I have a lot to say.  Whew!  At least I got that out!!

Going vegan was an interesting departure for me!  When J told me she was going vegetarian, AFTER I got over the shock of my carnivorous daughter giving up meat, I decided to join her.  I’ve toyed with the idea in my head for while but never really thought I would do it.  She was the push I needed, interestingly enough, she doesn’t even live at home the majority of the year, yet we are doing this “together”.  That was about 2 1/2 yrs ago.  Being veg wasn’t so difficult, learning to like vegetables was the hard part.  But I was successful and I did feel better (tho not as energized as J was when she made the change).  When she decided to go vegan, well, that was slightly a different story.  I could see giving up steak and even chicken (I never did give up sushi!!), but now, dairy???  Oy!  It’s been about 6 months but here I am, no dairy, no meat, no poultry, no fish (oops, I do have the occasionally sushi, don’t tell!), no eggs (oh boy!) and, a side benefit, I lost 10 lbs the first month!!!

J didn’t necessarily go veg/vegan for philosophical reasons…yes, we have pets, yes, we wear leather, but the more she learned (mostly from PETA and others less militant), the more she saw how the cruelty in animal farming was so prevalent, and she views some of her decisions on that.   My story is a bit different.  My father was a butcher (albeit a kosher butcher so in my mind, not so butchery) so I had meat in my veins growing up.  Favorite food?  Lamb chops, hands down!  (Besides the fact that I haven’t been able to afford lamb chops for years and years, just the thought…)  So, bottom line, my going vegan wasn’t based on the farming tactics or the cruel methods of animal slaughter.  I did it for health, for the discipline it involves and, what I have since learned, the dramatic impact on the environment that animal farming is doing…and, as my daughter shows me more videos and documentaries, I especially liked Food Matters, the more I feel I made the right decision and for the right reasons.

It has not been easy but I don’t miss too many of the (yummy) foods I don’t eat anymore.  I am worried about Passover but I’ll talk about that later.

About jamsmom

mom to 3 girls and 2 dogs, voracious knitter, vegan and just generally trying to figure out life. i create photo montages for anyone that will pay me...and sometimes for those that don't...
This entry was posted in Life, Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

