Sock Mitzvah

I have this friend who I do like but can be a bit of a challenge as far as friends go.  Anyway, for the last year of so, every time she saw me knitting or wearing anything I made, especially socks, she would start asking me to make them for her.  “oh come, make me socks, it’s my birthday/anniversary/valentines day/whatever”  EVERY SINGLE TIME I SAW HER.  People just don’t understand that to make someone a hand knitted gift is a helluva lot more than saying “poof”!(and she’s a knitter).   It’s not that I wouldn’t make something for her, she begged me to make her a water bottle holder like mine a few years ago and never used it, it’s just that when you keep asking and being, let’s face it, obnoxious, it’s hard to motivate yourself to do it.  She’s in my book group and at the last group when she asked yet again, I kinda snapped…”ya gotta stop bugging about that” (I actually used a yiddish word but I can’t spell it!!).  Even the others in book group had gotten pretty fed up with her asking and we only meet once a month.

I thought she’d never speak to me again and I have to say, I felt bad.  But I did see her later and talked to her and she didn’t seem bothered.  Well, as it turned out, I had finished a pair of socks and decided, what the hell, her birthday was coming up and I wanted to give them to her.  She was ecstatic!!  I was taking her out to lunch for her birthday, something we’ve been doing for years, and gave her the socks.    What was really great is when she called me the day she wore them and just loved them.  I felt good and I’m glad I gave them to her. 

About jamsmom

mom to 3 girls and 2 dogs, voracious knitter, vegan and just generally trying to figure out life. i create photo montages for anyone that will pay me...and sometimes for those that don't...
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment