Is it possible to have a Vegan Passover Seder?

I’ve been searching the internet for vegan recipes for Passover and there are quite a few, surpisingly enough.  Not that I didn’t expect to find any but we are stretching the boundaries of the egg filled Passover meals!  Especially since tofu and beans are not, technically, KP (unless you are sephardic which I may be this year!!).  I did discover some pretty good vegan jewish websites in my search (I like ShalomVeg).  I did find some recipes that I am considering…vegan matzo balls in veg soup, of course,  mock chopped liver, gifilte fish, potato kugel and for dessert chocolate matzo brittle!  I do want to bring a main course dish to the 2nd night Seder I am going to so I thought I would make roasted delicata squash with quinoa salad although not sure what delica squash is or if I can find it so will probably substitute another.  All in all, not a bad start!  I may eat some eggs during Passover, I mean, there are just some dishes that I wait a year to eat, specifically matzo brei (fried matzo) that is just so delicious sprinkled with a ton of sugar and it is my absolute favorite food that I may break down.  I don’t know…I’ll have to decide.  Well, now off to go shopping!  I still do have to make a chicken matzo ball soup for my daughter and husband.  This is super torture for me because I used to love picking at the chicken when deboning after cooking for hours in the pot.  OMG that is so yummy…if I just get white meat, though, it is less appealing to me so that’s what I’ll do!!!  Well, off I go!

 

About jamsmom

mom to 3 girls and 2 dogs, voracious knitter, vegan and just generally trying to figure out life. i create photo montages for anyone that will pay me...and sometimes for those that don't...
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

